April 1, 2010

198 Yards of Handspun

Posted in knitting, spinning at 6:57 pm by peachknits

So…I made a shawl. Out of my handspun.

My very first handspun. That’s right.

Pattern: 198 Yards of Heaven
Yarn: my handspun!
Started: October 2009
Finished: March 24, 2010

Notes: I was a little nervous about the yardage for this shawl, since I knew I had more than 198 yards, but I also went up a needle size to accommodate the bulkiness. The yarn is a 2-ply bulky, spun on a single treadle, somewhat antique Leclerc, and yes, it is my first “real” handspun. (The other attempts don’t count, since there were only a few yards, and none of them were knitworthy.) The composition is 80% wool, 20% tussah silk that I purchased in Yellow Springs, OH at their wool festival last year. My dear friend Jenni (you can see/buy her book here) taught me how to spin. She is one of the most accomplished spinners around, and specializes in spinning cobweb-weight yarn that’s some of the most beautiful and amazing stuff I’ve ever seen.

I had a mini-meltdown with the Leclerc (which I purchased from a friend for $75) because the whorl kept flying off (as mentioned here) but now it seems to be behaving. She’s a stubborn girl, but she spins fine when she wants to. I’m going to save up for a newer spinning wheel, though, so I can spin without incidence.

1 Comment »

  1. Rachael said,

    It’s beautiful! How cool is it that you hand spun and knit that! Now all you need are sheep in your apt and you can be apart of the whole process! 🙂


Leave a Reply

