January 12, 2010

the FOs i’m most proud of

Posted in knitting at 4:53 pm by peachknits

I’m stuck at home because of the bad weather (oh, the travesty!) so I thought this would be an opportune time to write a post that’s actually related to  the general theme of this blog.

Ladies and Gentlemen: I present to you the knitted items I’m most proud of.

1) Swallowtail Shawl

Yarn: Noro Silk Garden Sock

Started: January 25, 2009

Finished February 20, 2009

Notes: This was one of the fasted knitted projects I have ever completed. It was definitely a case of perfect yarn meets superb pattern. Noro is always a pleasure to knit (especially Silk Garden…I think I’m addicted to the stuff) and the lace was easy to memorize and seemed to flow naturally. I also replaced the nupps in the pattern with beads, and I’m so glad I did: the results were absolutely gorgeous, and I get the most compliments from this added variant.

2) Buttony Sweater

Yarn: Plymouth Yarn Baby Alpaca Brush Solid

Started: December 2007

Finished: December 2007

Notes: Ah, the first sweater. What a milestone! This pattern was a top-down raglan with minimal instruction: more of a tutorial or guide than an actual pattern. It required me to do some research on sweater construction, and helped me learn how to read my knitting better. Plus, it’s the plushiest, softest yarn I could find, meaning that wearing it feels like being surrounded by a whole flock of alpacas!

3) Anemoi Mittens

Yarn: Sandnes Garn Lanett

Started: November 2007

Finished: January 2008

Notes: Sigh. These mittens were my one great love. As my second attempt at colorwork knitting, they turned out lovely, and were so warm and soft. Unfortunately, after several subsequent moves these mittens somehow got lost in the shuffle. I’m still meaning to make another pair. Until then, the mourning continues….

Edit: This post sat in my draft pile all weekend because I was busy with Super Family Crisis (resolved, thankfully) and Rabbit Getting Spayed (she’s fine). I can’t promise this won’t happen again, but I’ll try my best to prevent it.

Leave a Reply

